Check It Out!

Staff recommendations and reviews from the Plainfield Public Library

A Robot in the Garden by Deborah Install

Leave a comment

Ben just can’t seem to get it together. Drifting aimlessly throughout his days, he can’t seem to finish anything – projects around the house, a job search. He’s lost his confidence, and seems to be losing his marriage as well. And then Tang shows up.

Tang is a rather beaten up old robot who appears in Ben’s garden. After a couple of days, it’s apparent that Tang isn’t going away, so Ben tries to find out where he belongs, and how he can be repaired. Of course, Tang’s not offering up any information, and it looks like something really important has cracked inside of him, so it becomes Ben’s mission to track down Tang’s maker and get a replacement part before it’s too late.

This mission will take Ben and Tang from one side of the world to the other, both of them learning new things about the world, themselves, and each other.

This is a quirky, fun little book that will leave you wishing that you had a Tang in your life too. Recommended for readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s