Check It Out!

Staff recommendations and reviews from the Plainfield Public Library

Redemption Road by John Hart

Leave a comment

Severely neglected by his alcoholic father, thirteen year-old Gideon Strange thinks being a man means killing the person responsible for his mother’s murder when he was an infant.

When ex-cop Adrian Wall is released from prison, that’s just what Gideon sets out to do, but gets shot by a bartender in the process.  In the meantime, Gideon’s guardian angel, police officer Elizabeth Black finds herself under investigation for the shooting deaths of two men who kidnapped and tortured a teenager.

Suspended from duty and struggling with her own demons, Officer Black still believes that Adrian was framed for Julia Strange’s murder.  So does his geriatric lawyer, Crybaby Jones, who supports Elizabeth in her quest to find the truth.

But can the truth be found?  Will justice be served?  These characters, and many more will be driven to the edge of disaster in this dark, twisting tale of brutality and mayhem in a small North Carolina town.  You will root for some, wish a horrible and painful death upon others, but you will not be able to put this book down.  Intense and powerful, the characters will haunt you long after you’ve read the last page.  (The audio book is also incredibly tense.  The slow pacing of the narration just underscores the small town southern setting, and serves to ratchet the stress up to unbearable levels.)

For readers of John Grisham’s A Time to Kill.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s