Check It Out!

Staff recommendations and reviews from the Plainfield Public Library

Alphabet Juice by Roy Blount, Jr.

Leave a comment

Fans of NPR’s “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me”, are familiar with the irreverant humor of writer and panelist Roy Blount, Jr. If like me, you are fascinated by etymology and the history of words and phrases, you will enjoy this dictionary-style book.

But this is more than just a dictionary. Blount, an essayist, regular contributor to Atlantic Monthly and usage consultant for American Heritage Dictionary, examines current phrases and slang along with how meanings have morphed over the years. What makes this so entertaining and not the least bit dull is Blount’s good ol’ boy Georgia style that has you envisioning him writing this from his hammock in the garden.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s